The first of many

Dear reader,

I have always wanted to journal. There are countless of empty notebooks in my bookshelf because I could never make myself actually write in them. Looking back, I feel like I feared writing in them because my writing would be too terrible or lackluster. I now have a blog, so I have to write every once in awhile. I can’t just force a webpage into my bookshelf, and if there are people who stumble upon this page and I gain an audience, I can’t just stop writing. If I hadn’t cared so much about the future me that would read it and judge me-from-the-past, I could have had all my thoughts in one place. It would’ve been like looking back at amateur illustrations that I drew as a child. Although I’m not a fantastic artist today, I’ve certainly gotten better at drawing. And the improved me would’ve only smiled at my old attempts. In all honesty, though, I didn’t finally get myself to start journaling by myself. This is actually an English assignment. The fact that this is something that I have to do is like the voice in the back of my mind reminding me to not stop writing.

This blog will be for two things. First and foremost, I definitely want to write about random things on my mind (thoughts, opinions, etc.). Secondly, I want to write about the background information of certain songs. Have you ever listened to a song and wondered why the artist wrote those lyrics? I want to know the reason behind it. I feel like I can’t completely enjoy a song until I actually understand it. It’s like reading a lovely novel, and you didn’t understand the theme of the story. For example, there’s a section in Ellie Goulding’s Anything Could Happen that didn’t make much sense to me:

We held our breath
To see our names are written
On the wreck of ’86
That was the year
I knew the panic was over

I’ve searched for the meaning behind these words, but there isn’t any solid information from the singer herself. I still love the song a lot, but it would’ve been nice to know what they song was truly about. But who knows for sure besides Ellie? Maybe they’re just random words that sounded right together. This is an example of a song without a known meaning, but there are songs out there with meanings that people aren’t aware of.

I’ll try not to ramble too much in my blog, but getting one’s thoughts out is a fairly chaotic process!

Yours Truly,

Elise

Leave a Reply

