You don’t know what you don’t know you don’t know

Dear reader,

You know that today is Friday. That’s a known known. Today is a special day for me, but do you know why? No? Now that’s a known unknown.

Did you know that my favorite soda is Dr. Pepper? Before I told you, you didn’t know that you didn’t know. So before I told you, that was an unknown unknown. This demonstrates anosognosia, a condition in which a person who suffers certain disability seems unaware of the existence of his or her disability (disability isn’t really the right word in this case).

This concept is kind of a brain teaser, but once you fully understand it, it’s really neat.

Have you read the book Othello (written by my good friend)? If you have, read on, but if you haven’t, be aware of spoilers (it’s a known known that there will be spoilers now, but before it was an unknown unknown). Othello didn’t even know that Iago was playing him a fool. He didn’t know that he didn’t know that Iago wasn’t someone to be trusted. It never came to his mind, since Iago had been “helping” him out. It was a known known to Othello that he was a general, and it was an known unknown to him whether or not Desdemona was truly cheating on him.

Hopefully this post has explained anosognosia a bit. I could go further in-depth, but this is all I know of anosognosia, and that’s a known known to me (or is it an unknown unknown and I actually do know more about anosognosia, but I don’t realize that I do…).

Yours Truly,

Elise

Leave a Reply

