Vampire Day, Month, Year

Dear reader,

I’ve been listening to this song nonstop:

It’s Vampire Weekend‘s “Giving up the Gun.” The lyrics are a bit odd, but I love it. It puts me in a good mood, and I actually like the music video (and I rarely like music videos). Take a listen!

They have many songs that I enjoy listening to. M79 makes me feel like I’m at a prestigious university in England, and I’m walking through the halls with textbooks in hand. (The lyrics don’t mention anything school-related though.)

The opening lyrics to Bryn are so inventive:

Ion displacement won’t work in the basement Especially, when I’m not with you

And I really like the song Horchata. The verse that really sticks out to me is:

Here comes a feeling you thought you’d forgotten

The song is very nostalgic.

Oxford Comma. In response to the opening lyrics (“Who gives a **** about an Oxford comma?“), I do. Ezra Koenig, frontman, was once an English teacher, so he adds fun things like this to the music.

Other than that, I really like the song.

Step. I really like the tune, and I like how the song has places named in it. From the very beginning of the song to the end, it’s fantastic.

These are a few of my favorite songs from them, but explore! There’re many more gems from them.

Yours Truly,

Elise

Leave a Reply

