The Big Bang Frankenstein

Dear reader,

I was watching The Big Bang Theory (my favorite TV show) when I recognized the poem that Sheldon references (The Hollow Men by T.S. Eliot): “To paraphrase T.S. Eliot, ‘This is the way the world ends. Not with a bang, but with  nephew.'” (The actual verse is “This is the way the world ends / Not with a bang but a whimper.”) The scene takes place at 1 minute, 20 seconds.

I was so proud of myself when I realized this because I read the poem a few weeks prior to noticing the reference. I had to tell everyone I knew about this discovery.

Unlike Victor Frankenstein, the creators of The Big Bang Theory did a great job of taking care of their creation. The show even won the 2014 People’s Choice Award For Favorite Network TV Comedy. Victor Frankenstein would probably win a very different award…

Since we’re on the topic of Frankenstein, let’s talk about that. To begin, here’s a funny comic:

I’m currently reading the book, and it’s surprisingly very good! Halloween costumes portrays Frankenstein’s monster as a silly character with no depth, but there’s a lot going on in Frankenstein’s monster’s mind (that’s a mouthful). There are many aspects to the novel itself. You can read the novel through a feminist lens, a psychoanalytic lens, and more. Everything is so dynamic. You may have also noticed that I always begin each blog post with “Dear reader” and end it with “Yours Truly, Elise.” That’s because I love letters. Frankenstein has a boatload of them.

Yours Truly,

Elise

One comment

  1. Hahaha I really like the comic you included in this blog post!

Leave a Reply

