Age Doesn’t Matter

What makes you different makes you dangerous.

Dear reader,

So I just finished reading Divergent. Normally it takes me weeks to finish a book (and probably months to finish this particular one since it’s pretty long) since I read bits and pieces of it at a time. However, that was not the case. I blasted through this book in a few days. If you like The Hunger Games, chances you, you’ll also enjoy this one. Both take place in a dystopia, but they’re very different from each other.

The movie comes out on March 21st. Here is the trailer:

You’ve probably noticed by now that I tend to read books that I know will become movies. I loved to see books come to life, although visualizing the book myself is also nice. It’s fun to compare my interpretations with the director’s interpretations.

I’ve always wanted to write and publish a novel. I have files upon files of stories (most of them incomplete) I wrote when I was little saved to my computer. What’s interesting about Divergent is that Veronica Roth was only 22 when she wrote the novel. She’s actually younger the actor who plays the main male character (she’s now 25, and Theo James is 29). Shailene Woodley, who plays the female protagonist, isn’t much younger than her either (she’s 22 right now). Roth is an example of “age doesn’t matter.” You can write a book at 10, 18, 39… any age. Keep on writing.

Yours truly,

Elise

Leave a Reply

