Of Big Brother and Quotes

photo

I made this graphic myself. Woohoo!

Dear reader,

I started reading 1984 by George Orwell recently, and I’m super stoked about it! I’ve heard great things about this particular novel. I’ve read Orwell’s Animal Farm, and I absolutely loved it. This famous quote from the book kept ringing in my ear throughout the novel:

“All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.”

The quote in Big Brother that stood out to me is was the one scrawled across the posters in Ingsoc:

“Big Brother is watching you.”

The art of creating memorable and haunting quotes. George Orwell is a master at this. His quotes make you thing and interpret them in various ways. I for one love quotes! One of my favorites is “A society grows great when old men plant trees whose shade they know they shall never sit in.” This quote reminds me of the people who volunteered to try to contain the radiation after the Japanese earthquake and tsunami back in 2011.

My Pinterest Board has some of my favorite quotes. I find it very helpful to memorize them because I can use them during daily conversations or in essays. I also apply them to situations that I’m in! For instance:

Me: Man, this homework is impossible.

My brain: “It always seems impossible until it’s done.”

Me: Thanks, Mr. Mandela for the words of encouragement.

Or…

Me: That shirt will make me look so cool.

My brain: “We buy things we don’t need with money we don’t have to impress people we don’t like.

Me: Good point… Fine, I won’t buy that shirt.

It’s like having a conversation with someone else while at the same time having a conversation with myself. I talk to my brain a lot.

Yours truly,

Elise

Leave a comment