The Ancient Art of Writing Letters

Dear reader,

I love receiving handmade things. So, I was ecstatic to receive this postcard from a fellow classmate.

1984 Postcard MattYou probably think this postcard is pretty strange, especially since he’s addressing me as “comrade.” I’ll explain. We were assigned to make postcards as if we were in the age of Big Brother (from George Orwell’s 1984).

In the age of technology, everything is almost electronic. Although I’m all for that, I don’t want handmade crafts to become extinct. Things that are handmade take time and effort. You get to see what a person’s handwriting looks like, which is rare nowadays. You get to see if he or she colors out of the lines. You can tell a lot from a person by just something that he or she has made.

Here’s a challenge: make a homemade gift for a family member or a friend. It will definitely brighten up his or her day.

You can find a lot of DIY ideas on Pinterest, but making something up by yourself is even better.

Yours truly,

Elise

 

 

Leave a comment